more reading in 2011!

All right foodies and friends, it’s a New Year and, as you should know, I’ve pledged to participate in the “Post a Week Challenge” for 2011 (if you have no idea what I’m talking about, check out this post). In addition to the food fabulousness I serve you each month, there will be 4 additional blogs that may sometimes deal with food, sometimes with life, maybe even my life as it relates to food. In any event, we’re embarking on this challenge together, so grab your partner’s hand, keep all body parts inside the moving vehicle at all times, and let’s go!

This week I want to talk to you about resolutions. I know I shared my foodie resolutions for 2011 with you, but I have some non-food related resolutions for 2011 as well.

Allow me to digress for a moment… why do people have a problem with New Year’s Resolutions? Maybe we should stop referring to them as resolutions – especially if they are unrealistic or you’ve chosen goals that may be too far-fetched to achieve in one year. Let’s refer to resolutions as our “2011 Wish List”. That way, if you don’t achieve one of your goals, it’s okay – just wish for the change in 2012!

Okay, so back to my non-food related wish list for 2011. One of the big-ticket items on my list is to be more actively motivated. I’m one of those people who watch The Biggest Loser while loafing on my couch, eating some semi-healthy snack, commenting on other people’s weight loss goals. Meanwhile, my Billy Blanks Boot Camp DVD set has been actively collecting dust on my DVD shelf. This year, I’ve dusted off Billy and his Boot Camp friends and have dedicated myself to becoming ab-tastic by the beginning of swimsuit season. I’m starting slow, doing at least 30 minutes a day, and let me tell you, it’s tough. Billy and his boot camp homies are no joke. Send me some positive vibes – I’ll need them!

If one of your goals is to be physically fit in 2011, remember that the key is to pace yourself. You won’t see a drastic change overnight. If it has been a while since you’ve started a training or fitness regimen, don’t try to kill yourself in the first few days, expecting a six-pack of abs to show up at the end of week one. Shoot for 30 minutes a day – be it walking outside, hitting the gym, or a bike ride with friends. If you prefer more solitary means to shedding your pounds, there are a lot of great options for you as well. If you subscribe to Comcast Cable, the onDemand feature has an area devoted to fitness videos called Exercise onDemand. All of the videos are free, and you can select cardio, sculpting, abs/core training, even Yoga and Pilates. Best of all, you can start whenever you want, and you don’t have to worry about messing up a pose or missing a step – there’s no one there to see you! If your cable carrier doesn’t provide this feature as an option, grab a fitness DVD during your next Wal-Mart or Target adventure and get started on the road to physical fitness! Another fun option is motion gaming, which are video games designed for systems like Wii and X-Box. The fitness games offer a great aerobic workout, and track your progress over time so that you can keep up with your weight loss. They also have some great dance simulation games that will get you off your couch and grooving you way to better physical health.

Another item on my “2011 Wish List” is to spend more time reading and focusing on my writing. The reading part will definitely pose a challenge, since in addition to my 9-5 job and the time I spend in Internet land with all of you, I’m getting my Masters Degree in Communications Management, so if it’s not a school textbook, I’m inclined to not open it. I have a huge stack of food magazines just aching to be read, starred, and dog-eared, yet I haven’t been able to get to them. I also have a really good novel that I started a while ago and has been anchoring the corner of my nightstand ever since. In 2011, I want to read more, and not just about food (although, who wouldn’t want to read about food?). I plan this year to read at least one novel, fiction or nonfiction, every month. I am also going to strive to bring you all more Fab Foodie wisdom (or foolishness, depending on how you look at it!) in 2011. I’m still getting my feet wet in the blogosphere, but it’s becoming easier every day. Hopefully this “Post a Week Challenge” will help me achieve this goal!

If you find that you have been spending way too much time in front of your television, turn the box off once a week and read a few chapters of that book you’ve been trying to finish, or write down your thoughts of the day in a journal. If you have kids, encourage them to pick up a book and read one chapter aloud each day, to you or their siblings or a rapt audience of stuffed animals. Not only is the TV off, but they are working on reading and speech skills, both of which are crucial to a child’s developing mind. I would recommend the Harry Potter series, which I’ve personally read from cover to cover and thoroughly enjoyed; and the Percy Jackson series, which not only helps with the areas previously mentioned, but also introduces a bit of history by way of Greek mythology. Encourage your kids to keep a journal as well. Let me be clear: I don’t mean a diary, where they write about their latest crush. I mean something that YOU can read as a parent and not feel like you are violating their privacy. A pick a topic, write a few pages on what it means to you, journal. My mom started this with me when I was in 6th grade, and I hated it. However, those journal entries were the humble beginnings of this little blog that you are reading – so thanks Mom!

What are some non-foodie items from your “2011 Wish List”? Share in the comments and let’s work to motivate each other!

Wishing great things for you,

The Fab Foodie

 

Post a Week tally
1 Post written

51 Weeks remaining

