The New Year is the time when we reflect on the year that was and write our wish list of changes for the year in front of us. In the spirit of New Year’s Resolutions, here are my foodie resolutions for 2011.

  • Start a Foodie Journal. I am always finding a new restaurant to try, running across a new recipe, or falling into a new watering hole to tease my palate. Often, I forget to write these important nuggets of information down. If you are anything like me, you are in need of a foodie journal. Pick up a nice journal large enough to carry in your purse or everyday tote, and use it to record new recipes you want to try, notes about restaurants, bars, or a café or eatery that you want to remember, even your grocery lists. Imagine how much information you can accumulate on your eating habits in one year!
  • Work on better eating habits. So here’s my confession: I have terrible eating habits. Don’t get me wrong- I’m not saying that I have a bad diet. I’m saying that I don’t eat three meals a day and I may get about 3-4 servings of fruits and vegetables in a normal week. No bueno mis amigos. 2011 is going to be the year I stick with improving my eating habits. Armed with my new juicer (see this blog), I am excited about getting a fresh start on a healthy lifestyle. If you want to work on better eating habits too, here’s a suggestion: start following a rigid eating schedule. Plan out your meals during the day and stick to your schedule. Make sure to include your water intake on your schedule as well.
  • Try at least one new restaurant or cuisine a month. There are so many new places opening in DC as well as some places that I’ve heard a lot about but never tried. This year I am going to push myself to venture out of my comfort zone of restaurants and neighborhoods and try some new places. Try it for yourself! Make a list of 12 restaurants or bars in your area that you have never been to and make an effort to try one restaurant a month – and write down your observations in your foodie journal!
  • I want to start using recipes as more of a guideline than going strictly by what’s written down. It’s easy to follow a recipe and have a standard outcome, but the real challenge is in using different ingredients to make something similar but totally different. Here’s your challenge: find one recipe that you always follow to the letter. Now, look for something small that you can change or substitute in that will enhance the overall dish. Now, do it again, and keep doing it until you have something new and exciting – and you can call it your own! 

    A Toast from The Fab Foodie!

I made a Cranberry Sangria over the holidays that was really tasty – I want to try more cocktail recipes like this and incorporate them into my food toolbox. Try it for yourself! Find the recipe here.

So that’s it – what are your resolutions for 2011? Share some of your resolutions in the comments.

Happy New Year!
The Fab Foodie

