One week till the big day!

One of the great things about having a birthday the week following Christmas is that my Mom always buys me a separate birthday gift. This year, Mom has decided that I need to increase my efforts to live a healthier lifestyle. To this end, I am the happy recipient of a new juice extractor.

Apparently, since this is a birthday present and I still have seven days until my birthday, I am supposed to wrap my birthday gift and place it under my beautiful Christmas tree. Yeah..that’s not going to happen. Anyway, in an effort to get the most use out of my new kitchen gadget, I headed to my second home (the Internet) to find out the skinny on juicing.

Here are a few highlights from my research:

  • As a general rule, drink fresh fruit juices mostly in the morning, or at the start of your day as it provides the complex carbohydrates to fuel energy, or at least 2-3 hours before you go to bed, depending on your body metabolism.
  • If you are new to juicing, try to start with the fruits you enjoy eating. This way, your body would already be familiar with the taste.
  • Start with common fruits such as apples, oranges, or watermelon, which can be easier on the stomach. Once you are ready to add something new, incorporate carrots, celery, cucumbers, or beets to your juice blend.
  • As your body becomes more accustomed to your juicing diet, add green vegetables such as lettuce, spinach, endive, and cabbage.
  • To remove pesticides from fruits and vegetables before juicing, soak them in clean water with a mixture of a small capful of apple cider vinegar and some sea salt for about 10 minutes. Rinse well and they are ready for juicing.
  • Juice apples with their skin on – its essential nutrients are most concentrated just under the skin.
  • Reserve the pulp, or fiber, from your juiced fruits and veggies. You can either add them back to your juice to aid in digestion or use them in cooking.
  • Once juiced, juices do not keep as long as its natural whole form. Once exposed to air, they start to lose their nutrients and can spoil quickly. It’s best to consume your juice immediately. (Keep this fact in mind when preparing your fruits and veggies for juicing!)

I also found a laundry list of recipe options. Here are a few that I am eager to try:

Apple Pineapple Ginger Juice

1 apple, cored and sliced

1 cup fresh pineapple, cubed, skin removed

½ in. fresh ginger

Juice the apple and ginger together, then juice the pineapple and serve.

 

Cocktail Rose

½ pineapple, peeled

½ slice lemon

½ cup fresh cranberries

3 tablespoons raw sugar

Juice together in the order given. Add the sugar to the juice and stir.

 

Sunset Cocktail

2 apples, cored

1 medium beet

1 orange, peeled

3 carrots

Juice together in the order given.

So as you can see, I’m in for some fresh fruit and veggie madness. I’m still holding out for my set of Henkel knives…if there is anyone out there in Internet land that would love to grant my wish, I send FABULOUS thank-you cards. For a set of Henkel knives, I would probably send a fruit basket!

Happy Healthy lifestyles!

The Fab Foodie

 

