A Perfect Meal!

I decided recently to end a fabulous day by indulging in the Capitol Hill revolution that is We, The Pizza. Spike Mendelsohn, the mad genius behind this new eatery, was a contestant on Season 4 of Top Chef, set in Chicago.

I was surprised by the lively atmosphere when I walked into the shop. I expected a subdued atmosphere, being that we were steps away from the seat of American government. Instead, the Notorious B.I.G.’s Ready to Die CD greeted me as I entered the establishment, and kept me grooving during my visit. I loved the spacious kitchen set-up, which allows you to see the pizza being made and the different selections of pie available. The menu is huge – literally – and the options will have you wanting to try the entire menu in one sitting! There is plenty of seating in the upstairs dining room for those that can’t wait to get home to eat, or who want to sit down and enjoy an evening with a good friend (like me and my good friend Kim!).  I’m planning to have my next birthday party there, Chuck E. Cheese style, sans singing and dancing puppets.

The real star here, though, is the pizza. After much deliberation, I decided on a slice of Italian Sausage and Peppers and a slice of Pepperoni pizza. I also tried the La Bomba wings and a Summer Shanty, which is a mix of lemonade and beer. We’ll get to that later.

First, the pizza. The pizza was just amazing. AMAZING. It was honestly the best pizza I have ever had. The crust is the most important part of any slice of pizza, and this one was as close to perfect as I’ve had. It was soft, but still crispy on the bottom, and stood up well to the amazing tomato sauce and the toppings. It was just ten minutes of heaven. I don’t think I breathed or put the slice of pizza down until the only visible part of the pizza was the edge of the crust.

The La Bomba wings were a great complement to the pizza. The sauce was tangy with a nice punch of heat. The summer shandy, by Leinenkugel’s out of Wisconsin (http://leinie.com/summer_shandy.html ), put the finishing touch on my meal. Now, I must admit that I was skeptical when I ordered this beer. I’m a beer snob, and the thought of beer mixed with lemonade was just like telling me that Paula Deen doesn’t like butter – unheard of. However, it’s about trying new things, right? Well, let me tell you, I was not disappointed. The beer was rich, not light as I expected, and the lemon gave it a refreshing twist. They offer their beers on draft, which I love (beer snob!), and their house brew was also really good.

In addition to the pizza, wings and great beer selection, We, The Pizza also offers subs, salads, pasta, and gelato as well. If you’re feeling really adventurous, try one of their housmade sodas!

As you can probably tell, We, The Pizza definitely received the Fab Foodie Seal of Approval. If you are on Capitol Hill, check them out – and thank me later!

 Stop by and check them out!

We, The Pizza

305 Pennsylvania Avenue

Washington, DC  20003      

http://www.wethepizza.com

Happy eating!

The Fab Foodie

