The best week of summer is quickly approaching.

I’m not talking about back to school time, although I know some of you have already started stacking composition books and 5 subject notebooks in the “school supply closet”.

No, my friends, it’s…

(cue the trumpets!)

DC’s Summer Restaurant Week!

Yeah, I’m a little more excited than you probably are. But, if you aren’t the least bit excited about a 3-course meal for $20.10 for lunch and $35.10 for dinner, then stop reading this now. Ok, before you stop reading, let me tell you more.

Restaurant Week is when DC’s restaurants offer fixed price lunches and dinners at almost 200 local eateries. And I’m not talking about Olive Garden or Friday’s – participating restaurants this year feature Bourbon Steak, Rasika, Zola, and 701 Restaurant. This year, Restaurant Week is being held August 16-22, 2010. For the full list of participating restaurants, check out the DC Restaurant Week website: http://washington.org/restaurantwk/

The prices for lunch and dinner do not include beverages, tax, or gratuity, so make sure you factor those into your meal budget. Make reservations early – Restaurant Week reservations fill up fast at the better restaurants, so get your bid in! You can make your reservations online at www.opentable.com or if you are still afraid of the Big Bad Internet, call the restaurant directly.

Another thing I love about Restaurant Week – a lot of the participating restaurants will extend their Restaurant Week menus and prices past the 22nd, so don’t fret if you miss a restaurant – you can still make it there!

Did I already say I love Restaurant Week?

After perusing the list of restaurants, here is the Fab Foodie Top Five (in no particular order):

  • Againn DC – I’ve heard a LOT of good things about this place. Can’t wait to try it!
  • Birch & Barley – I am DYING to get a taste of their extensive beer collection.
  • Bourbon Steak – 3 words: Butter Poached Steak.
  • Hook Restaurant – another place I’ve heard good things about.
  • Oceanaire Seafood Room – I have been wanting to go here for YEARS. I normally wouldn’t include a chain restaurant for Restaurant Week, but this one is an exception.

 Honorable mention (places I’ve been but would go back for Restaurant Week):

  • Kellari Taverna –  a MUST ATTEND if you haven’t had the experience.
  • Sequoia –  the food is decent, but pricey, so this would be a good time to try them. The atmosphere is really nice – perfect for a date night!
  • Sonoma –  great food, great wine selection. Decent choice for a weeknight meal during Restaurant Week.

Start your list now and make your reservations! Let me know what restaurants made your Top Five List!

 Happy eating!

The Fab Foodie

