I love Sundays. They are just filled with a lot of nothingness to do. WONDERFUL!! I wanted to share some foodie finds and observations that I’ve had over the past two weeks.

First, my sisters and I have a tradition known as Sister’s Day – ok, we’re trying to make it a tradition. Anyway, so once a month, one person is responsible for planning a get-together. August is my month, and you all know how I share the love…cooking. I’m planning to cook a three-course meal for my sisters. I’m REALLY excited, especially since my oldest sister doubts my cooking skills (I still love you Sister!). What to do? What to make? What’s my theme? So many questions…and then I was in Harris Teeter on Friday and ran across Nellie and Joe’s Lime Juice. SCORE. I bought 3 bottles.

Before you think I’m crazy for buying 3 bottles of lime juice, let me tell you my Nellie and Joe’s story. The first time I went to Key West, FL was the first time I had Key Lime Pie. And I don’t mean that green stuff with the meringue that you think is Key Lime Pie. (Lime juice: not green. Just saying.) This authentic Key Lime Pie was tart but sweet, and this particular piece I had was frozen on a stick and dipped in chocolate. I fell in LOVE. The last day in Key West, I found Nellie and Joe’s. Nellie and Joe’s Key Lime Juice was recommended as the best ingredient for the key lime pie. I took a bottle home and tried my hand at a pie. I was back in Key West on first bite! My bottle ran out on me about 4 pies later, and while I could substitute regular lime juice, it just wasn’t the same. Now that I have 3 bottles of Nellie and Joe’s in my pantry, I can tell you to definitely check back for the Key Lime Pie pics…I can taste the tart deliciousness already! If you want some more info or to find the recipe I use for my Key Lime Pie, check out Nellie and Joe’s website: http://www.keylimejuice.com

So back to Sister’s Day…now that I have my dessert, I’ve decided to go with a Key West inspired dinner. I’ll let you know how it comes together!

Another fantastic find at Harris Teeter: Angostura Bitters. I think I was more excited about the Bitters than the lime juice. For those that don’t know, Bitters is an alcoholic beverage that is flavored with herbal essences and has a bitter or bittersweet flavor. It is used as a key ingredient in cocktails, as a flavorful addition to soups, dressings, marinades, and can be used as a cure for an upset stomach. I heard a lot about bitters and have run across a few recipes that incorporate them, so I’m excited to try one out. Rum Punch anyone?

My last tidbit: yesterday I had a FANTASTIC spa day at Nusta Spa celebrating my friend Kimberly Harris’ 30th birthday. On top of a heavenly deep-tissue massage and facial, we were treated to a lovely spread of hors d’ouerves courtesy of Sarita Thomas. We munched on steamed shrimp, sugar snap peas, a fruit spread, cheeses and turkey, olives, and my contribution: smoked salmon dip. I love LOVE¬†smoked salmon dip. Here’s my recipe – try it!

Smoked Salmon Dip

  • 8 oz. cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1 tbsp. lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp. dill
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. black pepper
  • 1/4 lb. (about 4 oz) smoked salmon, minced
  • 1 tbsp. tarragon
  • 1 tsp. red pepper flakes

cream the cheese in a food processor until just smooth. Add sour cream, lemon juice, dill, salt, and pepper, and mix. Add smoked salmon and mix well. Stir in remaining ingredients to taste. Chill and serve with crackers.

***

That’s what I’ve been up to….what are you doing this fine day?

Before I leave you to enjoy your Sunday, I’ve nominated Confessions…to receive a Black Weblog Award for Best New Blog and Blog to Watch. If you haven’t voted, today is the FINAL day for nominations. Please go to http://www.blackweblogawards.com/¬†and vote for Confessions about Food and Life! The Fab Foodie thanks you!

Happy eating (and VOTING)!

The Fab Foodie

