This week’s recipe comes from G. Garvin. Now, I will say that I am not a G. Garvin fan. However, I do want to try this recipe. I haven’t cooked it yet, so check back for my tips.

 Recipe courtesy Turn Up the Heat with G. Garvin

  •  ½ cup olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon salt
  • Black pepper
  • 1 box angel hair pasta
  • 4 six ounce boneless, skinless chicken breast halves
  • ½ cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 ½ cups white wine
  • 1 lemon, juiced
  • 2 tablespoons chopped garlic
  • 2 tablespoons chopped shallot
  • 1 tablespoon small capers
  • ½ cup heavy cream
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh Italian parsley

Bring a large pot of water to a boil. Add 2 tablespoons of the olive oil, the salt, and a pinch of pepper. Add pasta and cook for 3 to 5 minutes or until desired tenderness. Strain pasta and toss with 2 tablespoons of the olive oil. Set aside and keep warm. Place chicken between two pieces of plastic wrap and lightly pound until slightly flat. Sprinkle chicken with salt and pepper. Dredge both sides of the chicken in flour. Heat the remaining olive oil in a large sauté pan over medium heat. Sauté chicken until no longer pink, then add wine, lemon juice, garlic, shallot, and capers to the pan. When mixture comes to a light simmer, remove chicken and add cream and butter to pan. Stir until butter is melted. Stir in parsley and additional salt and pepper to taste. Serve over chicken and pasta.

Makes 4 servings

***

Ok..so I haven’t made it yet, as I mentioned, however I have a few tips off the top of my head:

  • I would suggest getting the chicken started and cooking the pasta while the chicken is in the pan.  If your timing is good, they should both be done at or around the same time and you won’t have to worry about keeping your pasta warm.
  • A wonderful tip I learned from watching Mario Batali: use at least 2 tablespoons of salt in your cooking water for pasta. It works…I tried it and now swear by it. Also, if you don’t rinse your pasta after straining you won’t need to toss it with olive oil. The natural starch in the pasta will help the sauce to stick to it.
  • If you don’t have a meat mallet to pound your chicken, you can use a rolling pin. Works just as well. But don’t use a real hammer – that definitely won’t work!
  • When cooking with wine, it is always best to use a wine that you would drink. If you won’t drink it, why cook with it?

 I’ll add some more tips after I make it, so check back soon! If you make it, let me know how it turned out, and share your tips for making it better!

Happy Eating!

The Fab Foodie

