The Fab Foodie is back in the D.C. city limits! I will tell you one thing – it was HOT and HUMID in Orlando. But, I had a good time and ate some good food!

 If you are traveling to or from the D.C. area in May, fly into BWI Airport on Southwest Airlines for two reasons. One, BWI Airport has really stepped up its food offerings. Phillip’s Seafood and California Tortilla are among the offerings there, but my favorite is Vino Volo, a wine bar that I first found in the airport in San Antonio last year and was happy to find a location in Baltimore.  They have a great selection of wine that can be packaged for carry-on on your flight. They also have tasting flights and a wonderful menu that pairs well with the wines they serve.  I ordered their signature dish, Smoked Salmon Rolls.  It was a crab salad on crostini with fresh smoked salmon on top. It was a perfect appetizer- the saltiness of the salmon was great with the creaminess of the crab salad. I enjoyed the Spring Whites wine sampler with my appetizer, and although they were all Chardonnay, each had its own distinct flavors that paired well with the dish. The first was from Clifton Springs Winery in California. It was very crisp with a dry finish. The second, from Vincent Griardin Winery in France, was very fruit forward with a citrus nose. The green apple notes were strongest on my palate. The last was my favorite of the three, from the LaTour Vineyards in California. It was spice forward and the vanilla notes made for a wonderfully rich feel on the tongue.

The second reason (although you don’t have to fly to check this out) is the Spirit Magazine, the magazine published by Southwest Airlines for in-flight reading.  If you’ve never read this magazine, please check it out – it is very well written and has tons of great information on the cities to which Southwest flies. This month’s issue featured a special report on the state of work that really caught my attention (and kept my mind off a bumpy flight to Orlando). It was such an inspirational read.  If you are unsure about what you want to do or what you are doing is not your passion, please read this article.

While in Orlando, I had the opportunity to dine at Timpano Italian Chophouse, which has locations in both Orlando and Fort Lauderdale. If you are traveling to either city, check them out. I enjoyed some of the BEST seafood I have had in a long time. The table shared mussels and calamari for appetizers.  The calamari was seasoned well and crisp, yet tender. The mussels were served grilled on a hot skillet, dressed with lemon, olive oil, and kosher salt. The minimal seasonings put the flesh of the mussels on display, and they were absolute perfection.  I was in foodie bliss…and then my entrée was placed in front of me.  I ordered the Roasted Salmon, which was soaked overnight in dill and served with a creamy mustard sauce over wilted spinach and artichoke hearts.  It was, without a doubt, the BEST piece of salmon I have ever had the pleasure of eating. The salmon is served medium temperature at the chef’s suggestion, and the dill explodes on the taste buds. But, it doesn’t overpower the tender flesh of the salmon. The creamy mustard sauce complemented both the spinach and artichoke hearts and added a tangy punch to the dish. Simply outstanding! My foodie bliss was close to the point of nirvana…and then I had the Crème Brule for dessert. Four words: I LOVE CRÈME BRULE. The crispy sugar topping with the wonderful creamy texture of the custard was just orgasmic. The restaurants serve small portions of their desserts with dessert spoons so that you enjoy the dessert but don’t overindulge.  It was a perfect meal.

Great meal…but glad to be home. Next foodie trip is the foodie mecca of the West.  LAS VEGAS. Super excited…can’t wait! Send me your foodie recommendations if you have them – I’m a virgin to Sin City!

 Also, a belated Feliz de Cinco de Mayo!!! I didn’t get my margarita on Wednesday, but I did have one on Thursday. How did you celebrate? Share your favorite Margarita!

 Some links:

 

Happy Eating!

The Fab Foodie

