One of my new favorite things to do is to spend a Saturday morning at Eastern Market.  So, this Saturday with nothing to do, I grabbed my reusable shopping bags and headed on a mission of foodie discovery.

List in hand, I arrive at the outside section of the Market with one goal in mind: to Stick to my List. Then, I saw the fresh herb planters…rosemary branches reaching toward the sky next to tender stalks of Greek oregano and thyme.  The vendor wanted to test my herb knowledge… spearmint and lemon was easy.  The last one was a challenge…a little peppery, but I couldn’t quite put my finger on the scent.  It was SAGE.  I hung my head low and walked away, foiled by a plant.

I continued on my mission, picking up veggies and admiring fruit along the way.  I sampled a blackberry on display – sweet fruity deliciousness.  I added two baskets to my bag and moved on in search of more great finds. Next stop was the table run by Wisteria Gardens (www.wisteriagarden.net) and the best black bean dip I’ve ever tasted. The subtle flavors of lime and cilantro blended with the mashed black beans and made for the perfect snack for a rainy Saturday in front of the television.  Dip and a bag of tortilla chips later, I made my way inside to the butchers and fishmongers.  This is where I usually go into sensory overload.  I can walk in there every Saturday for a year and I will see something new.  This Saturday’s find: Lamb sausage.   I finished my shopping and ended the day with a fantastically light and well-seasoned bowl of Cream of Broccoli soup from Sizzling Express on Capitol Hill, and a $25 parking ticket from the District of Columbia Parking Authority. Thanks guys…

My kitchen is jumping this weekend.  My mom’s wish for quiche has been granted, thanks to my abundance of Saturday morning energy.  Although I didn’t get the asparagus from the Market, I did see some BEAUTIFUL bunches on display.  If you’re feeling adventurous, head to Eastern Market and grab a bunch! I made a spinach and bacon quiche with shallots. The shallots added a burst of flavor to my recipe, and with half of the pie already gone, I think it was a hit.  Also in the works is this week’s Recipe of the Week, Chicken Cassoulet with Crisp Crumb Topping.  Since last week’s posts were food-heavy, I’m going to focus on some drinks this week. In celebration of Cinco de Mayo (one of my favorite holidays), I will have some Margarita recipes to liven up your party.  Also, I’m excited to do my first wine review with my Friend of Wine, Sarita Thomas. 

If today’s foodie discovery wasn’t enough, my wonderful mother has made one of my favorite dishes, Liver and Onions.  Those deep Southern roots…

Happy Eating!

The Fab Foodie

